Co-curricular Groups


PERFORMING ARTS


Big Bands, Jazz Combos

These groups focus on Jazz repertoire, with a focus on entering local band competitions during the year (including National Jazz Festival at Easter). We currently run two big bands, and several small combos.

Contact: John Page j.page@tbc.school.nz


Small music ensembles

Smaller instrumental groups include guitar ensemble, woodwind ensemble, brass ensemble and small chamber trios/quartets. Performing acoustic music, with a focus on entering the NZ Chamber Music secondary school festival, and other local performance opportunities.

Contact: Brenda Oakley b.oakley@tbc.school.nz


Itinerant Music Lessons

Tauranga Boys’ College is the administration centre for the greater Bay of Plenty area for Itinerant Music Lessons. On top of that we offer small group lessons to students in the following instruments based on availability and demand: Voice, Brass, Woodwind, Strings, Guitar, Bass Guitar, and Drum Kit.

Contact: Brenda Oakley b.oakley@tbc.school.nz аOR musiclesson@tbc.school.nz


Production

Every year we combine with Tauranga Girls’ College for a major production, often a musical. Students are able to be involved with stage roles (leads and company), backstage, band/orchestra, sound and lighting, hair and makeup, costuming, and front of house.

Contact: John Page (producer) j.page@tbc.school.nz аOR production@tbc.school.nz


Shakespeare (Sheilah Winn)

We enter a 15-minute scene and 5-minute scenes for the Sheilah Winn Shakespeare festival each year. The 5-minute scenes allow students to direct, and give students the opportunity to explore Shakespeare in creative ways.

Contact: Zoe Creek z.creek@tbc.school.nz


Theatresports

Theatresports is the art of improvisation, quick-wit, and thinking on your feet. Games give structure to work on developing ideas and skills, as well as a great social atmposphere.

Tuesday lunchtimes in Drama room

Contact: Katrina Larsen k.larsen@tbc.school.nz


VISUAL ARTS


Art Club

Art club provides students with an opportunity to work on their painting, design and photography skills with guidance from staff.

Wednesday lunchtimes in A3

Contact: Rhian Elmes r.elmes@tbc.school.nz




CULTURAL


Kapahaka

Kapahaka provides the opportunity for students to display their skills in Maori Performing Arts for public observation outside of a curriculum context; this includes the annual Super 8 competition and a number of events held in the Bay of Plenty, Waikato, and Hauraki regions. The majority of these events are performed in conjunction with Tauranga Girls College.

Contact: Aramahou Ririnui a.ririnui@tbc.school.nz


Manu Korero

Manu Korero provides the opportunity for students to display their oratory skills in the Maori and English languages for public observation outside of a curriculum context; this includes the annual local, regional and / or national events.

Contact: Doug Baker d.baker@tbc.school.nz


Pasifika Rise

Pasifika Rise is a community of students who identify with Pasifika culture, aimed at supporting students in their school life, and providing inspiration and mentoring within the school and the wider community.

Thursday lunchtime meetings in Rm 2

Term 2 onwards - Monday mornings 6:00am training and breakfast in GYM 1

Contact: Rob Warner r.warner@tbc.school.nz OR Nikki Taula n.taula@tbc.school.nz



PUBLIC SPEAKING


Debating

There are opportunities for keen (and preferably experienced) debaters to participate in inter-school debating during the course of the year. Many of the debates take the form of ‘Limited Preparation’ debates, so they require additional skills to those required for Public Speaking, particularly the ability to think on one’s feet. Debating is a challenging, but hugely valuable activity. And it’s fun, too!

Contact: Gareth Cass g.cass@tbc.school.nz


Oratory

Apart from opportunities to enter and participate in speech contests, both within and outside of school, students who wish to develop their speech craft and at the same time, have a lot of fun are encouraged to participate in the lunch time 'Speak Up' Club - A club dedicated to the development of Oratory Skills. We are looking for new and novel ways to make Public Speaking an accessible and attractive option for a greater range of students at Tauranga Boys’ College.

Contact: Brian Ebbett b.ebbett@tbc.school.nz


ай tbc_arts 2017